Home> Updates

Zhang Qiang meets with Bayer AG's German Representative Holger

Updated: 2024-06-12

Zhang Qiang, secretary of the Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area Party Working Committee, recently met with Holger Weintritt, head of Global Product Supply at the Pharmaceuticals Division of Bayer AG, and his delegation.

On behalf of Beijing E-Town, Zhang welcomed Holger and his delegation and briefly related the latest developments in the area. 

Zhang noted that this year marks the 30th anniversary of Beijing E-Town being approved as a national-level development zone and the 29th year of its collaboration with Bayer Group. 

The area currently hosts over 90,000 business entities and has attracted investments in 157 projects from 102 Fortune 500 companies. 

As a pilot area for reform and opening-up in the capital, Beijing E-Town has implemented pioneering policies in various fields, particularly in the biopharmaceutical sector, where it has established a comprehensive 1+N industrial policy system to accelerate the creation of a global hub of "Innovative Medicine by Intelligent Manufacturing". 

Zhang expressed his hope that Bayer AG would deeply integrate into the full industrial chain layout of the area's biopharmaceutical sector, fully utilize the production capacity of the E-Town factory and take advantage of development policies in Beijing and Beijing E-Town.

Holger expressed his admiration for the development and changes in Beijing E-Town. He said that the area has a beautiful ecological environment and a concentration of high-tech industries, and staff members of Bayer AG have fully felt the city's vitality and opportunities. 

Bayer's Prescription Medicine Division will continue to develop in the area, increase investment and research efforts in innovative medicines, improve local production capabilities, continuously expand areas of cooperation, and achieve higher levels of mutually beneficial development.

During the meeting, Zhang Qiang awarded Bayer AG the 2024 First Quarter Economic Outstanding Contribution Award for Beijing E-Town.